THE RAIL VEHICLE ACCESSIBILITY (NON-INTEROPERABLE RAIL SYSTEM) (LONDON UNDERGROUND METROPOLITAN LINE S8 VEHICLES) EXEMPTION ORDER 2018

The Secretary of State makes the following Order in exercise of the powers conferred by sections 183(1), (2), (4)(b) and (5) and 207(1) and (4) of the Equality Act 2010(a) and paragraph 31 of Part 7 of Schedule 10 to the Deregulation Act 2015(b).

In accordance with that paragraph this Order revokes an exemption made by statutory instrument.

In accordance with section 183(4) of the Equality Act 2010 the Secretary of State has consulted with the Disabled Persons Transport Advisory Committee(c) and such other persons as the Secretary of State considers appropriate.

Citation and Commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Rail Vehicle Accessibility (Non-Interoperable Rail System) (London Underground Metropolitan Line S8 Vehicles) Exemption Order 2018 and comes into force on 31 July 2018.

Interpretation

2.—(1) In this Order—

"the 2010 Regulations" means the Rail Vehicle Accessibility (Non-Interoperable Rail System) Regulations 2010(d);

"exempt vehicle" means a rail vehicle of the type known as Metropolitan Line Tube Stock (S8) and with a number in the series 21001 to 21116 or 22001 to 22116 or 23057 to 23116 or 24001 to 24116 or an odd number in the series 23001 to 23055 or an even number in the series 25002 to 25056;

"Metropolitan Line" means the London Underground route between Aldgate and Amersham, Chesham, Watford and Uxbridge stations, including platforms 1 and 4 at Neasden and Willesden Green stations;

(2) In this Order a reference to a numbered paragraph is a reference to that paragraph of Part 1 of Schedule 1 to the 2010 Regulations.

Exemptions relating to facilities for disabled persons

3. Subject to article 4, an exempt vehicle is authorised to be used for carriage on the Metropolitan Line even it does not conform with, or if it is used in a manner that does not conform with the requirements of paragraph 11(5) (passenger information when vehicle is stationary at a station), but only in so far as it applies to the systems inside the vehicle.

Conditions

4. The exemption in relation to the requirement set out in paragraph 11(5) only applies to a vehicle that is stationary at a station named in the Schedule, at a platform indicated against its name, and only if—

⁽a) 2010 c. 15, in these footnotes "the 2010 Act".

⁽b) 2015 c. 20, in these footnotes "the 2015 Act".

⁽c) The Disabled Persons Transport Advisory Committee was established under section 125 of the Transport Act 1985 (c. 67) and has a statutory duty to provide the Government with advice on the public passenger transport needs of disabled people.

⁽d) S.I. 2010/432, to which there are no amendments relevant to this Order.

- (a) whilst the vehicle is stationary at that station and platform, the systems inside the vehicle are used to announce which line the vehicle is travelling on and at least one of the following items of information—
 - (i) the destination of the vehicle:
 - (ii) the next stop;
- (b) where under paragraph (4)(a) no announcement is made as to the destination of the vehicle, that information is provided after leaving the station and before the vehicle stops at the next station;
- (c) where under paragraph (4)(a) no announcement is made as to the next stop, that information is provided after leaving the station and before the vehicle stops at the next station.

Revocation

5. The Rail Vehicle Accessibility (London Underground Metropolitan Line S8 Vehicles) Exemption Order 2010(f) is revoked.

Signed by the authority of the Secretary of State for Transport

Nusrat Ghani

Parliamentary Under Secretary of State Department of Transport

Date

SCHEDULE

Article 4

Station platforms at which the exemption from paragraph 11(5) will apply

Station	Platform	-
Baker St	3	
Barbican	1	
Barbican	2	
Chalfont & Latimer	2	
Chorleywood	1	
Chorleywood	2	
Croxley	1	
Croxley	2	
Eastcote	1	
Eastcote	2	
Euston Square	1	
Euston Square	3	
Farringdon	1	
Farringdon	2	
Great Portland St	1	
Great Portland St	2	
Hillingdon	1	
Hillingdon	2	
Ickenham	1	

(f) S.I. 2010/435.

Ickenham	2
King's Cross St. Pancras	1
King's Cross St. Pancras	2
Liverpool Street	1
Moorgate	1
Moorgate	2
Moorgate	3
Moorgate	4
North Harrow	1
North Harrow	2
Northwick Park	1
Northwick Park	2
Northwood	1
Northwood	2
Northwood Hills	1
Northwood Hills	2
Pinner	1
Pinner	2
Preston Road	1
Preston Road	2
Rickmansworth	1
Rickmansworth	2
Ruislip	1
Ruislip	2
Ruislip Manor	1
Ruislip Manor	2
West Harrow	1
West Harrow	2